Sustainable Supply Chain Management

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrint

Spotlight on Sustainability in the Supply Chain

Managing sustainability risks along a company’s supply chain is increasingly on the radar of good corporate sustainability management. The complexity of a company’s supply chain leads to multiple challenges:

- There are numerous areas in the supply chain where social and environmental deficits exist that potentially do not meet the expectations of important stakeholders.

- Risks are more likely to be found in the activities of second tier suppliers, subcontractors or partners of direct suppliers, over which the company itself has very little direct influence.

- Managing these risks requires considered integration into supply chain management processes.

Risks for the Company – Why Act?

As a result a company is increasingly facing numerous risks in the following areas:

  • operational risks: low quality products, lack of reliability of suppliers
  • reputational risks: negative coverage in the media in cases of scandals, difficulty retaining good talent,
  • market risks: loss of sustainability-aware customers
  • financial risks: increased costs for remedy actions, increased capital costs

The Path to Risk Reduction

Reducing sustainability risks in the supply chain requires a systematic approach:

Module 1: Sustainability Check of the Procurement Portfolio.

This module covers an analysis of the existing suppliers and supply chain based on a risk matrix (social and environmental). Initially the key procurement areas will be identified according to significance criteria. These areas will then be screened to determine their environmental and social risks. The result of Module 1 will be a map of the most important social and environmental topics within the supply chain, as well as a focus on those suppliers with the greatest risk potential.

 

Module 2a: Detailed Analysis of chosen Suppliers with increased Social and/or Environmental Risk.

As a first step, desktop research based on ‘ESG’ ratings of companies and brands will be carried out in order to identify those suppliers with increased risks. These suppliers will then undergo a detailed analysis. As a result of this module, companies will gain information regarding actual sustainability risks in their supply chain.

 

Module 2b: Detailed Analysis of the Procurement Processes.

The environmental and social risk analysis of the procurement processes is oriented towards the Guidelines of the Business Social Compliance Initiative (BSCI) as well as the social norm SA 8000. The results of this module are to pinpoint weaknesses, identify areas for improvement, and make recommendations to improve supplier selection, procurement processes and supplier evaluation.

 

Module 3: Courses of Action and Implementation.

This module covers the development of improvement measures and providing assistance with their implementation, e.g. compiling a sustainable procurement policy, training / workshop, audits; tools such as checklists, supplier questionnaire; and an implementation plan.

Sustainable Supply Chain Management

Achtung, öffnet in einem neuen Fenster. PDFDrucken

Identifikation von Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken und nachhaltige Ausrichtung der Beschaffungsmanagement

Fokus auf Nachhaltigkeit in der Beschaffung

Führende Unternehmen überprüfen und kontrollieren zunehmend die Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken entlang ihren Lieferantenkette. Die Komplexität der Lieferantenkette einer Firma führt zu mehreren Herausforderungen:

- Bereiche in der Lieferantenkette, bei welchen Sozial- und Umweltdefizite existieren, die möglicherweise nicht den Erwartungen der wichtigen Stakeholdern entsprechen.

- Lieferantenrisiken sind häufig nicht bei den direkten Lieferanten, sondern bei deren Zulieferern oder Partnern versteckt, denn über diese sind im Unternehmen oft keine oder wenig Informationen vorhanden.

- Das Verwalten dieser Risiken benötigt dessen gezielte Integration in die Beschaffungsprozesse.

Die Vielfalt der Lieferantenrisiken

Deswegen ist eine Firma zunehmend zahlreiche Risiken in den folgenden Bereichen ausgesetzt:

  • Operative Risiken: ungenügende Lieferqualität, Unzuverlässigkeit von Lieferanten
  • Reputationsrisiken: Negative Medienberichterstattung über Lieferanten oder deren Produkte, erschwerte Gewinnung engagierter neuer Mitarbeiter/innen
  • Marktrisiken: Verlust von Umsätzen mit Kunden, die Wert auf Qualität, Zuverlässigkeit und ethisches Handeln legen
  • Finanzielle Risiken: Finanzielle Verluste und erschwerter Zugang zu neuem Kapital aufgrund oben stehender Risiken

Das Vorgehen zur Risikoreduktion

Um Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken innerhalb der Lieferantenkette erfolgreich zu reduzieren, braucht es einen systematischen Ansatz:

Modul 1: Nachhaltigkeits-Check:

Analyse der bestehenden Lieferanten und Lieferantenketten anhand einer Risiko-Matrix (Sozial und Umwelt). Zuerst werden Hauptbeschaffungs-bereiche anhand von Signifikanzkriterien identifiziert. Diese werden dann auf soziale und ökologische Risiken überprüft.  Die Ergebnisse von Modul 1 sind eine ‘Landkarte’  der wichtigen sozialen und ökologischen Themen in der Lieferantenkette, sowie den Lieferanten mit erhöhtem Risiko.

 

Modul 2a: Detailanalyse von einigen ausgewählten Lieferanten mit erhöhten ökologischen oder sozialen Risiken.

Zuerst wird eine Desktop-Analyse anhand bestehender ‚ESG‘-Ratings von Unternehmen und Marken durchgeführt, um Lieferanten mit erhöhten Risiken zu identifizieren. Diese werden anschliessend detailliert untersucht. Ergebnisse dieses Moduls sind Informationen über konkrete Nachhaltigkeits-Risiken in der Lieferantenkette.

 

Modul 2b: Detailanalyse des  Beschaffungsprozesses.

Die Analyse basierend auf sozialer und ökologischer Kriterien orientiert sich an den Richtlinien der Business Social Compliance Initiative (BSCI) sowie der Sozial-Norm SA 8000. Ergebnisse dieses Modul sind die Identifikation von Schwachstellen, resp. Verbesserungspotentialen, sowie Vorschläge für Verbesserungen bei Lieferantenauswahl, Beschaffungsprozessen und Lieferantenbeurteilung.

 

Modul 3: Handlungsoptionen und Umsetzung.

Dieses Modul beinhaltet das Erarbeiten und Begleiten von Umsetzungsmassnahmen, wie z.B. Erarbeiten einer nachhaltigen Beschaffungspolitik, Schulung/Workshops, Audits; Tools wie z.B. Checklisten, Lieferantenfragebogen; und eine Umsetzungsplanung.